The Minority Report
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Minority Report

This is a forum designed to cover all aspects of alternative research from religion to the paranormal to other aspects of global conspiracy.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

The Difference Between a "Hook" and a Submission Hold

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Minority of One
Admin
Minority of One

The Difference Between a "Hook" and a Submission Hold Empty
PostSubject: The Difference Between a "Hook" and a Submission Hold   The Difference Between a "Hook" and a Submission Hold Icon_minitimeFri Nov 05, 2010 11:41 pm

When I started training in Catch Wrestling, we were told about the difference between a hook and a submission. A submission hold is one where you apply a joint lock to a person, apply pressure accordingly until they submit or the limb is broken. A "hook" is a move where the person has no time to tap.....it's snap, no tap mentality.

While all submission holds can be turned into hooks, not all hooks can be turned into submission holds. There are some moves in Silat which cannot be used in submission aspects simply because they are very easy to escape and there is no control. If you try to control the move and submit someone in a controlled manner...it will fail every single time. However, if the person uses that same move with the mentality of a quick break.....the move can be applied no problem and be very effective. Many people see styles like Silat and think it's silly to think those moves would work to submit a person but they are misunderstanding the move itself.....it's about breaking the limb in a fast, snapping and explosive movement.

Here are some examples of submission holds:

Armbar:

Double Wristlock/Kimura(depends on your terminology)